Concealed Carry Class in Anchorage

Class Details

Handgun in holster at Alaska concealed carry class.

Class Description

Premier Alaska Concealed
Carry Class

This two-day concealed carry class covers the 12-hour requirement for the Alaska Concealed Handgun Permit.

Day one consists of a two-part lecture in our classroom from 8am-5pm, with no firearms required. The first half covers Alaska state law and legal systems and is delivered by a commissioned law enforcement officer. The second half covers safety, including comprehensive marksmanship fundamentals, a proper stance, firing grip, sight application, proper gun handling and manipulation, and how to properly check and perform loading and unloading sequences. We also cover the mental conditioning you will need to use these skills in a crisis before we conduct the written test.

Day two is a half day of training, conducted at our range from 9am-2pm. We’ll start with a brief on safety and medical protocols before running a series of drills designed to put the material you learned on day one into practice under the watchful eyes of our instructors. We’ll end the day with a certified 36-round qualification, as well as a Q&A session. Our goal is to make sure that you leave with all the information you need to apply for an Alaska concealed carry permit.

DOWNLOAD APPLICATION

What People Say

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

“Took a CCW course with Alaska Tactical recently, and was thoroughly impressed with the level of professionalism, service, and safety that all members demonstrated. I was also a patron of the store and never experienced anything less than friendly, helpful staff.”

Scott Carter

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

“Took a two-day Concealed Carry class, was incredible. Went above and beyond state requirements to complete mental and firearm preparation to carry a firearm and be prepared to use it effectively and efficiently. Will NOT be my last class from them.”

Thad Hunter

Class Details

Length

  • Two days
  • This class covers the 12-hour State of Alaska requirement

Cost

  • $225.00 (cost includes class, fingerprinting, photos and range fees)

Knowledge

  • Learn to handle the firearm safely
  • Learn the fundamentals of marksmanship: proper shooting stance, proper firing grip, sight application, trigger control, and trigger reset
  • Shoot at single and multiple targets
  • Shoot at multiple distances
  • Learn proper firearm handling: loading/unloading/reloading, press checks, draw from holster, malfunction clearance
  • Develop confidence

Requirements

  • No previous experience is necessary
  • Good attitude
  • Minimum 21 years of age
  • Appropriate clothing for the weather, including a ball cap, closed-toe footwear, and ear and eye protection to ensure your safety
  • Bring a brown-bag lunch and water
  • Completed application for training

Handgun

  • Additional requirements for those bringing their own firearm:
  • 9mm semi-automatic handgun or .38 special revolver
  • Strong-side, good quality external hip holster, magazine pouch, minimum of three magazines (a double-magazine pouch is preferred)
  • At least 150 rounds of ammunition
  • Please note no sub-compact semi-automatic handguns or revolvers
  • Handgun rentals are also available:
  • Handgun rental is $30.00 per day
  • 150 rounds of ammunition is an additional cost
  • Must use Alaska Tactical ammunition if renting a handgun

We Look Forward to Seeing You at the Range

DOWNLOAD APPLICATION